Inner Circle (automatic trip share)

Modified on Fri, 09 Jun 2023 at 02:50 AM

TripIt Pro member's trips are automatically shared with any TripIt user in their Inner Circle.

  • Inner Circle is available on our website and Android/iOS TripIt apps.
  • The Inner Circle invitee does not need to be a TripIt Pro member.
  • Once the Inner Circle invitee accepts your invitation, all upcoming (not past) and newly created trips are automatically shared with them.
  • New trips are shared as soon as they are posted in your account. If you do not want to share a specific trip with your Inner Circle, please see below.
  • Trip sharing is not reciprocal (you will not be provided trip information for the person you have added to your Inner Circle unless they also have TripIt Pro and have added you to their Inner Circle).


Please note, Pro features such as Inner Circle are not yet offered in the new web experience, but will still be available as usual on the TripIt mobile app or by switching back to the Legacy site. You can switch back by clicking the ‘New website’ toggle in the upper right-hand corner of any page. We plan to keep adding to the new web experience, so you’ll see regular updates over time. Inner Circle is not available for EMEA accounts at this time but we hope to offer this feature to all Pro users in the near future.  


Add to your Inner Circle from the TripIt website 

  1. Click Add to Inner Circle from the Network page.
  2. Enter your Inner Circle's email address then click Send Invite (your invitee will need to accept your invitation before they are added to your Inner Circle).

Edit permission rights or remove from Inner Circle.

  1. Click Inner Circle from the Network page.
  2. Click on your Inner Circle's name to see an option to Edit trip permissions or Remove from Inner Circle.
  3.  If you click the Edit trip permissions button, you can update your Inner Circle to have view only or editing rights.
  4. To remove an Inner Circle, click the Remove from Inner Circle button.


Add to your Inner Circle from our Android and iOS TripIt app.

  1. Tap the Pro tab then select Inner Circle.
  2. Tap Add to Inner Circle.
  3. Enter your Inner Circle's email address and choose whether you want your Inner Circle to have view-only or editing rights.
  4. Tap Send.

Edit permission rights or remove from Inner Circle.

  1.  From the Pro tab, select Inner Circle.
  2. Tap on your Inner Circle's name.
  3.  From here, you can choose if you want your Inner Circle to have view-only or editing rights.
  4. To remove an Inner Circle, tap Remove from Inner Circle.


*Important!  Inner Circle members receive your trip information immediately upon itinerary creation.  If you are planning a trip that you do not wish one or more of your Inner Circle members to see (surprise trip, birthday, anniversary, etc.) you need to first create a trip shell with the trip dates and destination city and mark the Do not share with my Inner Circle box on our website or TripIt app before submitting any confirmation email to plans@tripit.com (including Inbox Sync).  Selecting the Do not share with Inner Circle box after creation will not retroactively remove the trip from your Inner Circle members account.  

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article